Former Senator John Edwards officially withdrew from the Democratic Presidential campaign today. He spoke with his family at his side at the site of his public campaign declaration a few months ago in New Orleans, Louisiana. KFAI’s Lauretta Dawolo captured Edwards’ final remarks and spoke with one of his biggest local supporters.

Story submitted by Lauretta Dawolo

In St. Paul, voters approved Instant Runoff Voting for future city elections 52% to 47%.

Immigrants rights supporters followed Republican gubernatorial candidate Tom Emmer to a fundraiser in Columbia Heights on Wednesday, June 16. About 40 people gathered in front of Historic Heights Bed and Breakfast to draw attention to Emmer’s support of Arizona’s anti-immigration legislation, also known as SB 1070. KFAI News Director Ahndi Fridell reports.


St. Paul citizens may have a choice about how to vote for future municipal seat elections come November. A petition to put instant runoff voting (IRV) on the St. Paul ballot is currently under legal scrutiny. The St. Paul Better Ballot Campaign believes that if IRV is approved, it would ease the voting process.

KFAI’s Maria Almli filed this story on Monday, June 30, 2008

Lennie Chism’s conversation with Civil Rights Legend Marion Barry, Voting Rights, Past, Present, Future, Our Struggle to Vote on KFAI Radio, 90.3 FM Minneapolis, 106.7 FM St. Paul, Joined in the conversation by Donald Allen, and Mel Reeves.

St. Paul’s 5th Ward covers the northern edge of the city from Como Park to Edgerton Avenue. In this neighborhood, first-term city councilman Lee Helgen is facing financial planner David Haas.

Minneapolis licensed practical nurse Doug Mann has been a perennial candidate in local races, running for school board eight times since 1999 and for City Council in 2005.This year he's one of a slate of more than 10 candidates vying to be the city's next mayor. Earlier this month he filed a court order to force the city to hold a referendum on the Vikings stadium.

Filed in: 

Election Day 2014 was sleepier than most. The election issued in a Republican majority in the House of Representatives and in the Senate, but national voter turnout and overall political engagement among voters was notably low.

Tom Nordyke 612-802-3046

John Erwin 612-385-6863

Annie Young 612-729-3359

Mary Merrill Anderson 612-229-9709

John Butler 612-781-0035

David Wahlstedt 612-281-7611

Bob Fine 612-922-6992

Nancy Bernard 612-378-1813

District 1

Liz Wielinski 612-788-5688

Bernie Kunza 612-597-8874

John Malone 612-810-6487

District 2

Jon Olson 612-710-2007

Michael Guest 612-50

Filed in: 

Click to Return to Elections:https://www.kfai.org/2009Elections

[img_assist|nid=23348|title=Government|desc=|link=none|align=right|width=189|height=78]Carol Becker 612-722-4288

DeWayne Townsend 612-724-7010

Phil Willkie 612-822-0522

David Wheeler 612-730-6112

James Elliot Swartwood 612-822-7910

R. Michael Marten 612-377-5496

Filed in: